[Ontbirds] Fall sightings now due

Mike Burrell mike.burrell.on at gmail.com
Mon Dec 1 10:24:30 EST 2014


**The following message has been approved by the Ontbirds Moderator**

The Fall reporting season for the journal North American Birds (NAB) is now
over.  This is a request for observers to submit their interesting /
significant sightings to local compilers for the period of August 1 to
November 30 inclusive.

Below is a list of all current, local compilers for Ontario.  Please take
the time to send these compilers a short list of your significant
sightings, for each area you may have visited this fall.  This exercise
will place your observations into the permanent local archives.

Short-term your sightings will be compiled for NAB.  Longer-term they will
be archived for additional purposes such as regional checklists or regional
publications (examples of such include those recently published for Niagara
and Hamilton).  Also, many sightings are published in local newsletters
and/or Annual Reports.

LOCAL ONTARIO COMPILERS:

Pelee Island: Graeme Gibson -- graeme.gibson at pibo.ca

Chatham-Kent and Lambton County: Blake Mann -- boatmann at kent.net

Middlesex County: Pete Read -- psread at xplornet.com

Long Point Checklist Area: Stu Mackenzie -- stu.a.mackenzie at gmail.com

Haldimand County: Ron Ridout -- rridout at bsc-eoc.org

Niagara Region: Marcie Jacklin -- mjacklin at brocku.ca

Stratford Area: Marilyn Ohler -- mohler3 at sympatico.ca

Oxford County: James Holdsworth -- jmholdsworth at rogers.com

Waterloo Region and Wellington County: Ken Burrell --kenneth.gd.burrell at
gmail.com

Hamilton Study Area: Rob Dobos -- rdobos at cogeco.ca

Greater Toronto Area: Roy Smith -- rbhs at sympatico.ca

Northumberland County: Clive Goodwin -- clivegoodwin at sympatico.ca

Presqu'ile Provincial Park: Maureen Riggs -- mriggs at sympatico.ca

Prince Edward County: Terry Sprague --  tsprague at kos.net

Kingston Birding Area: Mark Read -- markdread at gmail.com

Eastern Ontario: Brian Morin -- BrianLMorin at gmail.com

Ottawa Birding Area: Christina Lewis -- hagenius at primus.ca

Kawartha Lakes: Dan Bone -- dan.bone at xplornet.com

Peterborough County: Martin Parker -- mparker19 at cogeco.ca

Grey and Bruce counties: James Turland -- jaturland at gmail.com

Muskoka District: Barbara Taylor -- muskoka_birder at hotmail.com

Algonquin Provincial Park: Ron Tozer -- rtozer at vianet.ca

Manitoulin District: Chris Bell -- cbell at amtelecom.net

Sudbury District: John Lemon -- hawk.owl at hotmail.com

Sault Ste. Marie Area: Kirk Zufelt -- zufelt_k at shaw.ca

Rainy River District: Dave Elder -- mdelder at shaw.ca

Dryden Area: Carolle Eady -- tceady at drytel.net

Thunder Bay District: Brian Ratcliff -- bratcliff at tbaytel.net

Thunder Cape Bird Observatory: John Woodcock -- johnwoodcock at hotmail.com

Point Pelee Birding Area and Southern James Bay (including Moosonee): Alan
Wormington -- wormington at juno.com

Ontario eBird: Mike Burrell -- mike.burrell.on at gmail.com

NON-REPORTING AREAS:
Essex County (excluding Point Pelee and Pelee Island)
Elgin County
Durham Region
Renfrew County
Haliburton County
Simcoe County
Huron County
Nipissing District (excluding Algonquin Park)
Parry Sound District
Timiskaming District
Cochrane District (excluding Moosonee Area and Southern James Bay)
Hudson Bay Lowlands (excluding Southern James Bay)
Kenora District (excluding Dryden Area)

For Non-Reporting Areas, significant sightings can be sent directly to Mike
Burrell, who will be compiling and writing the Fall Season Report for North
American Birds: mike.burrell.on at gmail.com or entered into eBird by
December 5

eBird Data:

If you have already submitted your sightings to eBird then you are ahead of
the curve since that means all of your records (not just those deemed
"interesting") are permanently archived, backed-up and freely accessible to
all researchers, local compilers, birders, and anyone else with an interest
in bird records. Mike Burrell makes significant sightings from eBird
available directly to any local compilers for NAB that is interested in
direct access to this excellent resource.  However, please note that some
NAB compilers do not take full advantage of this so to ensure your
sightings are included please send your significant observations to the
local compiler. Additionally, contacting NAB compilers directly allows them
to more easily request additional details from you.

North American Birds is published four times a year by the American Birding
Association and contains seasonal sightings/summaries for all regions of
North America.  The Ontario section consists of a very detailed account,
which presents a summary of sightings from across the entire province.
Numerous photos of various rarities are also included.  Ontario seasonal
reports have been published continuously since 1947, and these contain a
wealth of historical information on the bird life of our great province.

More information about North American Birds, and how to subscribe, can be
found here: http://www.aba.org/nab/

You can see a couple past issues at: http://nab.aba.org
Many thanks to those who consistently contribute their sightings.

Mike Burrell,

NAB Ontario Regional Editor (Fall Season)
mike.burrell.on at gmail.com
Bird-finding and trip planning: http://burrellbirding.ca/
Blog: http://mikeburrell.blogspot.com/



More information about the ONTBIRDS mailing list