[Ontbirds] "WINTER" SIGHTINGS are now due

Alan Wormington wormington at juno.com
Sun Mar 1 14:29:53 EST 2015


This posting has been approved by the Ontbirds coordinator.


The WINTER reporting season for the journal North American Birds (NAB) is now over.  This is a plea / request for observers to submit their interesting / significant sightings to local compilers for the period of December 1 to February 28 inclusive.

SPECIAL REQUEST:
Due to the unprecedented number of Orange-crowned and Nashville warblers that attempted to winter in Ontario this season, all sightings of these species will be tabulated.  Therefore, please be sure that your local compiler receives information on all sightings of these two warblers.

Below is a list of all current, local compilers in Ontario.  Please take the time to send these compilers a short list of your significant sightings, for each area you may have visited this winter.  This exercise will place your observations into the permanent local archives.

Short-term your sightings will be compiled for NAB.  Longer-term they will be archived for additional purposes such as regional checklists or regional publications (examples of such include those recently published for Niagara and Hamilton).  Also, many sightings are published in local newsletters and/or Annual Reports.


LOCAL ONTARIO COMPILERS:

Pelee Island:
Graeme Gibson -- graeme.gibson at pibo.ca

Chatham-Kent and Lambton County:
Blake Mann -- boatmann at kent.net

Middlesex County:
Pete Read -- psread at xplornet.com

Long Point Checklist Area:
Stu Mackenzie -- stu.a.mackenzie at gmail.com

Haldimand County:
Ron Ridout -- rridout at bsc-eoc.org

Niagara Region:
Marcie Jacklin -- mjacklin at brocku.ca

Oxford County:
James Holdsworth -- jmholdsworth at rogers.com

Waterloo Region and Wellington County:
Ken Burrell -- kenard89 at hotmail.com

Hamilton Study Area:
Rob Dobos -- rdobos at cogeco.ca

Greater Toronto Area:
Roy Smith -- rbhs at sympatico.ca

Northumberland County:
Clive Goodwin -- clivegoodwin at sympatico.ca

Presqu'ile Provincial Park:
Maureen Riggs -- mriggs at sympatico.ca

Prince Edward County:
Terry Sprague --  tsprague at kos.net

Kingston Birding Area:
Mark D. Read -- markdread at gmail.com

Eastern Ontario:
Brian Morin -- BrianLMorin at gmail.com

Ottawa Birding Area:
Christina Lewis -- hagenius at primus.ca

Peterborough County:
Martin Parker -- mparker19 at cogeco.ca

Kawartha Lakes:
Martha Miller -- martha.miller at rogers.com

Grey and Bruce counties:
James Turland -- jaturland at gmail.com

Muskoka District:
Barbara Taylor -- muskoka_birder at hotmail.com

Algonquin Provincial Park:
Ron Tozer -- rtozer at vianet.ca

Manitoulin District:
Chris Bell -- cbell at amtelecom.net

Sudbury District:
John Lemon -- hawk.owl at hotmail.com

Sault Ste. Marie Area:
Kirk Zufelt -- zufelt_k at shaw.ca

Rainy River District:
Dave Elder -- mdelder at shaw.ca

Dryden Area:
Carolle Eady -- tceady at drytel.net

Thunder Bay District:
Brian Ratcliff -- bratcliff at tbaytel.net

Thunder Cape Bird Observatory:
Rinchen Boardman -- rinchenboardman at gmail.com

Point Pelee Birding Area:
Alan Wormington -- wormington at juno.com

Southern James Bay (including Moosonee):
Alan Wormington -- wormington at juno.com

Ontario E-Bird:
Mike Burrell -- mike.burrell.on at gmail.com


NON-REPORTING AREAS:

Essex County (excluding Point Pelee and Pelee Island)
Elgin County
Durham Region
Renfrew County
Haliburton County
Simcoe County
Huron County
Parry Sound District
Timiskaming District
Cochrane District (excluding Moosonee Area and Southern James Bay)
Hudson Bay Lowlands (excluding Southern James Bay)
Kenora District (excluding Dryden Area)

For Non-Reporting Areas, significant sightings can be sent directly to Joshua D. Vandermeulen, who will be compiling and writing the Winter Season Report for North American Birds:

joshvandermeulen at live.ca


E-Bird Data:
Please note that many local compilers do NOT glean data from E-Bird for a number of reasons.  First, it is extremely time-consuming.  Also, entries often lack required information such as first and last observation dates, who actually found the bird, plumage details, and correct locations.  This is precisely why local compilers need your direct input --- FOR CLARITY.

North American Birds is published four times a year by the American Birding Association and contains seasonal sightings/summaries for all regions of North America.  The Ontario section consists of a very detailed account, which presents a summary of sightings from across the entire province.  Numerous photos of various rarities are also included.   Ontario seasonal reports have been published continuously since 1947, and these contain a wealth of historical information on the birdlife of our great province.

Information about North American Birds, and how to subscribe, can be found here:

http://www.aba.org/nab/


Many thanks to those who consistently contribute their sightings.

Alan Wormington,
NAB Ontario Regional Editor (Spring Season)




More information about the ONTBIRDS mailing list